Peanut Butter Cookies

3 Feb

Peanut butter. Cookies. They make a perfect match, don’t you think? Now I might be a little biased because, well, I’m a girl who loves her peanut butter. In fact, in jr. high I would eat it right out of the jar when I got home from school. Do I still think about doing that? Oh, yes. But instead, I grab the butter, sugar and flour and make cookies. Why, when eating it straight out of the jar is so much easier? I guess because in cookie form it’s more socially acceptable. That way, I can have one at home, one at work, one on my way to yoga…see? They’re portable and people won’t judge me like they would if I were carrying around a jar of peanut butter. See where I’m coming from?

Plus, I’ve been really busy at work this week and so has Andrew. We’ve barely seen each other with me overloaded with e-waste problems and him being kidnapped by the studio. But one this is for sure; if I’ve got dessert then I’m always welcome at the studio. Since I was tired of not being able to remember what my boyfriend looked like any more I made some cookies and delivered them fresh to the studio. Consensus? These cookies are not to be forgotten. They’re the perfect amount of peanut butter, butter and sugar. Not too sweet, not too peanut butter-y, not too crunchy, and a whole lot of butter (or so you might think!).

Peanut Butter Cookies
(adapted from Sing for your Supper and All Recipes)

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
Combine the flour, baking soda and salt in a bowl, set aside.
Mix together the butter, peanut butter and sugars for 2 minutes, until light and fluffy. Add in the egg and vanilla.
Gradually add in the flour mixture on low-speed. Chill dough 15 minutes in the refrigerator.
Place by rounded spoonfuls on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and bake for 8-10 minutes, until edges are very lightly brown. The cookies won’t spread much at all.

Do not over-bake. These babies are best RIGHT when they’re done. The bottom should be lightly browned but not crispy. blech, crispy pb cookies. Enjoy!

4 Responses to “Peanut Butter Cookies”

  1. Kristen February 3, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    Those look like the perfect little peanut butter cookies. Soft and bite sized… love them!
    Your photos are gorgeous too!

    • mnoller February 3, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

      Thank you! They might make my top 5 fave cookies (a bold statement, I know…)

  2. marla {family fresh cooking} February 4, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    Such perfect PB cookies. Glad to hear they helped bring you and your boyfriend back to each other while so busy!

  3. I’m linking over from Tidy Mom. I heart PB cookies… and am so anxious to try these. I’m bookmarking these to try soon. Your photos are stunning! Have a great weekend!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

