Red Pepper and Hummus Melt: Fantastic Fridays

6 May

Is it really Friday already? It felt like yesterday was Monday and I was getting up not wanting to face yet another week of work. Guess it wasn’t so bad if it felt like it flew by! Speaking of flying by, my lunches always seem to feel like they’re only 5 min. long when really I have an hour to go home, eat, maybe nap, and get back to the office. Today I threw together what we had left at home and out came a lunch I’ll be making again soon, inspired by Pinch of Yum who was inspired by A Nutritionist Eats. Don’t you love how it works like that? Inspiration everywhere!

Step 1:  Break out some unassuming bread.

Step 2:  Butter that bread with some hummus. Licking the knife afterward is strongly encouraged.

Step 3:  Pat on some black beans and make them stick reallll gooddd.

Step 5:  Throw on some roasted red peppers. Making it nice and neat is optional.

Step 6:  Almost there! Add some mozzarella and cracked pepper.

Step 7:  Turn your toaster oven to broil and throw that thing in there. Make sure you stare, drool and almost die of excitement waiting for the cheese to melt.

Step 8:  Transfer to plate and top with fresh basil and ENJOY!

I made two of these for photo purposes (don’t worry, I forced myself to eat them both.) and it was a pretty substantial lunch. Of course, in reality I could have eaten 4 of these and still had room for yogurtland. No, I didn’t go to yogurtland…but the day’s not over! Have a great Mother’s Day weekend and make sure to eat your share of delicious brunches. Have a great weekend!

2 Responses to “Red Pepper and Hummus Melt: Fantastic Fridays”

  1. princesayasmine May 6, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    Looks good. I would try it but I absolutely hate hummus despite my love of chickpeas.

Leave a comment