Chocolate Cake Mistake

5 Feb

Do you see these darlings? I made them in little ramekins and absolutely squealed when I pulled them out of the oven. Cute. Chocolate. Perfect. And then? And then I decided to use the peanut butter icing to give them “oomph” or whatever I was thinking. Maybe I wasn’t, because who is going to take a perfect chocolate cake and turn it into…well…this:

The HORROR!

How did I manage to convince myself that this was ok? Also, imagine this being 10 times worse–I am showing you the prettiest picture from the mess. At one point, it looked like a peanut butter chocolate war that was playing out in front of my eyes and I was the one causing it. Did I really need to cover these in peanut butter? Well my heart said yes (YES! YES! YES!)  but my head said “Why mess with perfectly good cakes when they look (and taste) that good?” I don’t listen. I should, but I don’t. I get these crazy ideas that work out when I’m plotting them in my head but I don’t stop to think that the real world doesn’t work like that. Thus, I am stuck with a chocolate peanut butter mess.

Would anyone like some chocolate cake? They are still available. I cannot get myself to even look at them, let alone eat them.

4 Responses to “Chocolate Cake Mistake”

  1. Trifecta February 5, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    You’re the best, yes Yes, YES!!

  2. Beto February 5, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    I like it. But you must remember that I consider cake to be a frosting delivery system. Chocolate and peanut butter? Could there ever be anything better? I think not…

  3. merittothecarrot February 5, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    They look and sound scrumptious to me!

    http://www.merittothecarrot.org

  4. mnoller February 5, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    I guess you’re all right. How CAN you mess up chocolate and peanut butter? 🙂

Leave a Reply

