Smoothies for Breakfast

17 Feb

I had a dream about these smoothies. I also had a dream about pancakes, which given that yesterday was pancake day, I guess that’s appropriate. These smoothies invaded my brain last night and as soon as I woke up I knew I was going to make them and love them. I also had a dream about the almost-bad banana that I used. It was chasing me around and trying to crush me with its brown spots. My dreams are like this every night.

This smoothie is perfect even if you have 3 feet of snow on the ground like we have here. It’s cheery and makes you miss spring/summer but adds a little joy to your morning even if you’re dreading putting on your snow boots, buttoning up your coat, tying your scarf, putting on your gloves, snuggling into your hat, cursing the world before you open the door…all those great things you have to do because of the snow. Let’s focus on the positive with berries and bananas. That’s basically all it is: your choice of frozen berries, a banana, milk or water, and ice. If you don’t have ice in the freezer just walk outside and grab some (clean, if you like) snow. Yum.

Berry Smoothie

  • 1 banana
  • handful of frozen berries (I used strawberry and raspberry)
  • approx. 5 ice cubes
  • 1/2 cup milk/water

Put everything in the blender and blend/whip/liquefy until you get the consistency you like. In the words of Ken Nunn, “It’s just that easy.”

Leave a Reply

