The Whoopie is in for 2010

19 Feb

Do you know what these funky things are? Say hello to the wonderful. colorful. Whoopie Pie! There has been a lot of talk from various ladies and gents on the blogroll about these little puff-taters. You’ve seen them in their standard garb- the chocolate, but also with a little sass in the red velvet. I wanted to step it up and make Friday a little more fun this week and bust out with a whole array of colors! Baloo blue, people eater purple, radical red, hamburglar yellow, golly green giant green. Don’t they just make you giggle looking at them? They’re like little dollops of color–BUT YOU CAN EAT THEM!

When we made these I didn’t think about how yellow mixed with brown would look, I just thought I would use a lot of yellow to get it right. I used all of the yellow food coloring and it still turned out like…that. We said they reminded us of Hamburglar from McDonlads, all it needs is some eyes and you’ll start to see it too. To do these I made the batter in the mixer and then divided it into 5 different bowls. Then I mixed. A lot. And then a lot more. It’s rough work getting these little pies to say “Whoopie” in different colors. By the way, does anyone else not like the word, “whoopie”? What else could we call these? Apart from the colors, my favorite part is the filling because it’s made from cream cheese and marshmallow fluff. Can I say WOW? It’s almost on the level of cheesecake, only not really. I just get excited when I like something similar to whipped cream, which I CANNOT tolerate. It gives me shivers just thinking about it.

I was turned on to this recipe by Iowa Girl Eats. She, too, got excited over these little cakes of goodness and has some fantastic pictures. I didn’t have any problems with the recipe and followed it true. These might become my default for a while because there is something about biting into these cakey, colorful, rich little sammys that I can’t get enough of. I’m giving most of them away tomorrow because they won’t last another second if I leave them in close proximity. This is my new addiction.

Whoopie Pies

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 1-oz. bottle red food coloring (2 Tbsp.)
  • 1 recipe Whoopie Pie Filling, recipe below

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line baking sheets with parchment; set aside. In medium bowl combine flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside.

2. In large mixing bowl beat butter on medium to high 30 seconds. Beat in brown sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla. Alternately add flour mixture and buttermilk, beating after each addition just until combined. Stir in food coloring.

3. Spoon batter in 1- or 2-inch diameter rounds, about 1/2-inch high on prepared baking sheets, allowing 1 inch between each round.

4. Bake 7 to 9 minutes for 1-inch cookies or 9 to 11 minutes for 2-inch cookies, or until tops are set. Cool completely on baking sheets on rack. Remove cooled cookies from baking sheets.

5. To fill, dollop Whoopie Pie Filling on flat sides of half the cookies. Top with remaining cookies, flat sides down. Makes 60 one-inch or 42 two-inch cookies.

6. Whoopie Pie Filling: In medium mixing bowl beat 1/4 cup softened butter and half an 8-ounce package softened cream cheese until smooth. Fold in one 7-ounce jar marshmallow creme.

7. To store: Refrigerate in airtight container up to 4 days. Let stand at room temperature 15 minutes before serving.

2 Responses to “The Whoopie is in for 2010”

  1. Liz February 19, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    Not sure what kind of food coloring you used, but I wanted to put in a plug for gel food coloring. I believe you can get it at Michael’s with the other cake decorating supplies. It gives a much truer color without having to use the whole bottle!

    I love your little whoopie pies!

  2. Kristin @ Iowa Girl Eats February 19, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    Gorgeous!!! I LOVE all the different colors you used! And…am super jealous that I don’t have any left to pop in my mouth. 😦 Enjoy them while you can! 😀

Leave a Reply

