Sunday Bakeday: Frozen Lemon Pie

21 Feb

Lemon is one of my favorite flavors and summer is one of my favorite seasons. This pie has both. Everyone has said it tastes like summer and lemonade and I think that has to do with the fact that it’s frozen until consumed. I don’t really like it but my roommate has said that it’s her favorite thing I’ve made so far. Really? I guess it just doesn’t do it for me, but it should. It has lemon (yes!), coconut granola crust (yes!) and is frozen (yes!).

I’m not saying you shouldn’t make this pie. This is easy and a crowd pleaser and a bit of sunshine in a gray winter day. Maybe I am just mad because I had to redo my egg whites since I over-beat them the first time. 3 wasted egg whites. Yeah, I might be taking out my frustration on the pie. I used my juicer to juice a whole lemon and threw in the juice, rind, and pulp. Very lemony. It’s adapted from Inside the Kaganoff Kitchen’s lemon icebox recipe and besides the crust I pretty much  followed the recipe.

For the crust I used some leftover granola we had and mixed it with some melted butter, patted it down firm into the pan and baked it for 8 min just to keep its shape. Worked pretty well and the coconut that was in the granola got toasty. Other than that there is stirring, whipping and folding.

Frozen Lemon Pie

  • 3 egg yolks
  • ½ cup + 3 tablespoons sugar
  • juice, rind and pulp of 1 lemon
  • 1 cup heavy cream, whipped
  • 3 egg whites
  • Graham Crackers ( I used granola and a little bit of butter and baked it for 8 min)

Over low heat cook egg yolks, a ½ cup sugar and lemon juice, pulp and rind until it forms a thick custard.

Fold in whipped cream.  Add 3 tablespoons sugar to the egg whites.  Beat until stiff but not dry.  Fold those into the cream/lemon mixture.

Crush Graham crackers and line a 9 x 9 pan with the crumbs. Pour in lemon mixture.  Sprinkle more graham cracker crumbs on top and freeze.

Leave a Reply

