Kitchen Faucet Fiasco

17 Mar

This is how my morning went:

“me:  do you want to hear a really good story?

Lindsay:  course!

me:  So Andrew’s sink has deteriorated and needed to be fixed so the apartment dudes came last night to replace the kitchen  faucet. let me tell you now that it was the manager and his dad fixing it…
so they took about 3 hours to get it done-no problem
Megan wakes up this morning and hears dripping and knows in her brain that something has gone awry
she gets up to pee and checks on the kitchen, just in case
and lo and behold the faucet it spraying hot water everywhere
and i mean hotttt water

Lindsay:  OH NO
OMG

me:  oh yes

Lindsay:  how much water????

me:  well everything that was on the counter was filled with water
and there was about half an inch on the floor

Lindsay:  what did you do?!?!?!!

me:  first, i took a bowl and covered the spray so we could function
and then took towels and called the apartment people
they had to turn off the water and called a real plumber

Lindsay:  is anything ruined???

me:  i don’t think so, just a few rolls of paper towels and the salt”

That’s right. I have 4 different things to bake today and our water is off and the faucet isn’t working. Thankfully, neither Andrew nor I were upset with this situation-we just laughed at how crazy it all was. The plumbers are (hopefully) on their way and I might be able to get one item done today. We have a dinner thing with some friends tonight and eatyourtartout is supposed to be providing the dessert. We’ll see if that happens. Ready for the quick pictures I took before management got here?

This is a closeup of the sink in the state I found it this morning. The water was reaching the ceiling...

The bowl that saved the day.

I’d like to add that all of our windows were steamed over and it felt like a sauna in the apartment. It was like stepping into the rain forest. Pretty good start to the day, don’t you think?

4 Responses to “Kitchen Faucet Fiasco”

  1. Cindy Hey March 17, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    That is the joy of renting versus owning a house! He has a fan, doesn’t he? You should turn it on in the kitchen and try to dry the place out so nothing mildews.

  2. Becky Lauer March 17, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    Bahahaha! Quick thinking with the bowl! I don’t think I would have thought of that. I would have just laughed and cried a little. Hope you still get to make some good treats! 🙂

  3. Beto March 17, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    this is probably related to the ‘quake. These are the things you’ll have to deal with in California, you know, earthquakes and such. Maybe you need to rethink the whole “moving to Cal thing.” Just sayin’…

  4. Mum March 20, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    I think in Finland and Russia when they have saunas the occupants beat each other with “brooms” made of native herbs. So it’s not a disaster; it’s an opportunity to be exotic; enjoy the heat/steam. (chortle chortle)

Leave a Reply

