Day-Off Blood Orange Scones

21 Feb

What do you do when you get a day off and have already cleaned the house AND crossed everything off your errands list? Bake, of course! We had a busy weekend and an extra lazy Sunday so today feels like a bonus day. It doesn’t happen often so bring it, President’s Day! Since I bought blood oranges at the farmer’s market yesterday (gotta love California citrus!) and we spent what feels like all weekend going to various grocery stores, I wanted to make something that I already had the ingredients for. I have a recipe for some chocolate chip scones but we’re out of chocolate chips and…I’m not really a huge chocolate fan. Cue in blood oranges and heavy cream and you’ll get these babies. Perfect for a Monday off.

I made some “syrup” with the leftover blood orange juice and drizzled on top. Mostly to make the photo prettier but when I took a bite it was better than I expected. You can’t really go wrong with fruit and sugar cooked down into sticky gold. Scones always make me think of my mom and me in Alaska. We took a trip to Anchorage/Seward when I was a senior in high school and stopped at this little coffee shop and had the most amazing blueberry scones. We still randomly text each other with reminders about those scones. It is probably the memory that makes them so good but to us they’ll always be some of the best scones we’ve ever had. And since she’s coming to visit me in 6 weeks I had to practice making scones so we can incorporate them into another trip and reminisce about them later.

Want a baked-good tip? Always use frozen butter. It makes everything flakier and better. Clearly butter makes everything better but frozen butter has improved my pastries–I’m never going back to unfrozen butter. I mixed the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt together, used my shredder attachment to “cut in” the butter and then added the orange zest.

Add in the heavy cream and orange juice, mix until the dough is shaggy and form into a square

Cut them into squares, top with sugar, and bake at 425 for 15 min until golden brown. (side note…I really need to order some silpats. Ugh.)

Set on cake stand and take a photo then eat them all before boyfriend gets home and wants one.

Then wish you hadn’t eaten them all so you could have one in the morning. Oh well, I only made half the recipe so if I get up 10 min. early I can make them tomorrow, too!

Blood Orange Scones

2 cups (10 oz) all-purpose flour
1/4 cup (1 3/4 oz) granulated sugar
2 1/2 t baking powder
1/4 t salt
1 stick butter (4 oz) (cold, cut into pieces)
1 cup (8 oz) heavy whipping cream (cold)
1  blood orange, zested
3 tbsp blood orange juice
Topping (I forgot to do this)
1 egg, lightly beaten
2 T sanding sugar or granulated sugar

1. Preheat over to 425 degrees
2. Mix together dry ingredients.
3. Using a pastry cutter, food processor or your fingers (I use a food processor), cut in the butter.
4. Add whipping cream and orange juice and zest. Blend together quickly (I use a spatula). Do not overmix.
5. Shape into a square.
6. Brush with egg wash. Sprinkle with sugar.
7. Cut into shapes. Place on parchment or Silpat covered baking sheet.
8. Bake for 14-16 minutes until golden brown.

2 Responses to “Day-Off Blood Orange Scones”

  1. Tracie February 21, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Clearly you are a genius….

  2. Becky February 21, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    These look so delicious!! Could be because I’m starving right now, or it could be because you’re an awesome chef/photographer! I’m definitely going to have to try these soon!

Leave a Reply

