Beet Soup and Bean Salad

14 Mar

Dinner: Beet Soup with yogurt and cilantro

 

I must crave foods that begins with B on Mondays. It was day one of our “eat right feel great” plan. Andrew forbids me from calling it our “detox” and I guess he’s right since we’re not limited to lemon juice and cayenne or mango smoothies or whatever those jump-on-the-bandwagon-diets are. We’re focusing on whole foods with tons of nutrients.

Monday’s Menu
Breakfast

  • 1/2 cup plain low-fat yogurt
  • 1/4 cup muesli
  • 1/2 banana sliced

Lunch

  • 1/2 whole wheat Pita
  • 1/2 cup white bean and red onion salad
  • 1/2 cup mixed greens (in the pita)
  • 1/4 cup roasted marcona almonds with rosemary

Dinner

  • 1/2 cup Beet soup with a dollop of yogurt and fresh cilantro
  • 1 cup mixed salad greens with sliced almonds and cranberries
  • Basil citrus vinaigrette

Snack

  • Homemade Vegan ice cream

Lunch: White Bean and Red Onion Salad

So far so good. I’m the hungriest at lunch so the nuts helped me feel full and satisfied. And surprisingly, I didn’t miss not having cheese in my pita. I’m glad I made the soup on Sunday so I didn’t have to rush home and make it tonight. Plus, the flavors got to meld together and really develop. When I got home I made the black eyed-pea curry we’ll be having tomorrow along with the vegan ice cream and salads for tomorrow. Since Andrew works more than he’s at home I try to get both our meals prepped for the next day. Oh, and can we talk about the vegan ice cream? You just toss some frozen banana in the food processor (when mine are beyond edible I slice them and toss them in the freezer for breads and smoothies) and blend until creamy. I added cocoa powder and some agave nectar. OH YUM. I need to buy more bananas to go bad. “Bad” for me is when they are a day after they’ve gone from green to yellow. I don’t like it when they aren’t extra firm. I leave them an extra day to see if Andrew will eat them but if not, in the freezer they go.

Hopefully tomorrow is just as good! Let me know if you want any of the recipes and I’ll post them šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

