Delicious Wonders of the Crockpot

14 Sep

Ready to have your game-day world rocked?

Get ready to thank me. Or thank me for thanking the most awesome person who shared this recipe (You can find her and her adorable family here. I’m lucky enough to be called Aunt May πŸ™‚ ). This was the easiest weekday lunch ever. It was also the most “middle america” recipe I’ve done in a long time. I’m allowed to say that since I am the epitome of a Middle American. You can take the girl out but you can’t take it out of the girl, right? And since my love for the Midwest runs deep so does my love for the simplicity of this recipe. And the ingredients, because you have to have some sort of midwest connection to love these ingredients, but we’ll get to that. Let get to the photos of this amazing lunch.

So you take that, which started as 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts and toss them into the crock with a WHOLE BOTTLE of Franks Buffalo Sauce and half a packet of that powdered ranch stuff. Then, depending on if you want to eat it sooner or later, set the crock pot on low (for later) or high (for sooner) and walk away. Now we stepped it up from the recipe and chopped up some celery and got bleu cheese crumbles to add in. We strategically mixed them in at the end, outside of the mixture. It was more of a ‘add thin layer of chicken, sprinkle celery and cheese, add layer of chicken, sprinkle’ type of deal. Let me tell you, the celery is key. It’s like a plate of wings on a sandwich. ON A SANDWICH. Clearly this recipe has been life changing.

But seriously, doesn’t that look life changing. And it would be perfect for football games. Add in some Trader Joe’s Mac and Cheese bites and football just got a lot better. The one thing I like about football season this year (since Peyton Manning is out for whoknowswhen) is that it’s a day of fatness and an excuse to eat all of those things…at the same time! Expect to see the word “diet” on here 16 weeks from now πŸ™‚ For those of you that didn’t read through my blabbermouthing, here’s the recipe:

Buffalo Chicken-ness

  • 4 skinless boneless chicken breasts
  • 1 bottle Franks Buffalo Sauce
  • 1/2 packet Hidden Valley Ranch Mix
  • Bleu Cheese Crumbles
  • 3 stalks Celery, chopped

Put chicken, half packet of ranch and buffalo sauce in crock pot. Turn to low to eat in 6 hours. Turn to high to eat in 3 hours. When time is up, remove chicken, shred, place back in crock pot and let sit for 1 hour. Mix in bleu cheese crumbles, place on hoagie roll, and top with celery and more cheese.

2 Responses to “Delicious Wonders of the Crockpot”

  1. robbiebueno September 14, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    Great blog! Love the tarts!! πŸ™‚ x

  2. Mary September 15, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    We are dealing with some seriously delicious food here. This is my first visit to your blog so I’ve taken some time to read your earlier posts. I’m glad I did that. I love the food and recipes you feature here and I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

Leave a Reply

